Constituency : Assembly


State :
District :
Total Voters :
Male :
Female :
Anjaiah Yadav
MP :
T. Rammohan Reddy

Voter details

Total population: 4,76,784; Men: 2,43,766; Women: 2,33,000
Total voters: 1,85,024; Men: 94,068; Women: 90,9326; Others: 20
Key communities: There is a high number of Hindu community in this constituency. The percentage of BC voters constitute to around 50 percent. Mudhirajs and Yadavs are more whereas SC voters are also in a considerable number.


Voter's details:
Total population: 4,76,784; Men: 2,43,766; Women: 2,33,000
Total voters: 1,64,278; Men: 83,734; Women: 80,526; Others: 18
Key communities: The percentage of BC voters constitute around 50 percent in this constituency. Mudhiraj and Yadavs number is more, whereas SC voters are also in a considerable number.
Year Winner Party Runner-Up Party Majority
2014 Anjaiah Yelganamoni TRS Chowlapally Prathap Reddy Congress 17328
2014 Anjaiah Yelganamoni TRS Chowlapally Prathap Reddy Congress 17328
2009 Chowlapally Pratap Reddy Congress Anjaiah Yelganamoni TRS 9838
2004 Dr.P.Shankar Rao Congress Bakkani Narasimulu TDP 10632
1999 Dr.P.Shanker Rao Congress Dr. Balu BJP 6010
1994 Bakkani Narsimulu TDP Shanker Rao Congress 45822
1989 Shankar Rao Congress Indira TDP 8700
1985 M. Indira TDP B. Kistaiah Congress 30871
1983 Shankar Rao Congress Puttapaga Radhakrishna Independent 3003
1978 Kistaiah Bheeshva Congress-I Bangaru Laxman JNP 9743
1972 N. V. Jagannadham Congress Kambaiah Independent 13827
1967 K. Naganna Congress B. M. Rao SWA 5370
1962 Damodara Reddy Congress Afzal Bia Bani Independent 7988
1957 Shahjahan Begum Congress L. Laxmareddy Independent 0

Other Important Leaders

G.Harigopal, the professor in Kendriya Viswavidyalayam is from Farooqnagar mandal, Mogiligidda village. He played a crucial role in Telangana movement. He worked as the leader of civil rights organisation, Palamuru Karuvu Porata Samiti, (PKPS), and also as the convenor of Palamuru Research Centre. He is active in conducting various welfare programmes and is now fighting against the private education.

Important projects,Institutions

Kothur is one of the largest industrial areas in the united Mahabubnagar district. Symbiosis university is present in the outskirts of Mamidipally village of Nandigama mandal. P&G and Johnson & Johnson companies are present in Kothuru mandal, Penjarla village. National Remote Sensing Agency is present in Farooq mandal, Annaram.

Ongoing Programmes

The works of Mission Bhagiratha and Kakatiya are going on a faster pace to provide drinking water for the people in the constituency. The construction of CC roads as a part of NREGS, R&B Panchayati roads are converting into BT roads in the constituency.

Pending issues

The development of Laksmidevipally project which is a part of Palamuru-Rangareddy Lift irrigation project is still a dream for the people of this constituency. The late YSR and the now CM KCR guaranteed the construction of Lakshmidevipally project but it restricted to surveys itself. Various industries like Iron, Sponge Iron, Pharma and other chemical industries are setting up in the constituency and hence polluting the environment. No measures are taken to control air and water pollutions.

Important places

From 1692 to 1719, Raja Savai Venkat Reddy, the head of the province of Vanaparthy made Shadnagar as his capital and ruled for 26 years. Janampeta which was named after Venkat Reddy's mother name, Pedha Jannama is neighbouring Shadnagar. Shadnagar was formed as an Assembly constituency in 1952.
Burgula Rama Krishna Rao who served as CM, primarily represented from this constituency. All the historic monuments constructed by Raja Venkat Reddy were encroached and disappeared, but the Venkateshwara Swamy Temple on the west side of Shadnagar remained as an evidence. Jahangir Peer Dargah in the mandal of Kothur is an example which symbolises the communal harmony.
Sri Ramalingeswara Aalayam in Farooqnagar mandal of Jogammaguda gutta is known as the Uttara Rameshwaram where a Shivalinga was kept by lord Sri Rama in search of Sita.

Interesting Points

Star campaigning is going to take place in this constituency as the sitting MLA Mr. Anjaiah Yadav is firm on retaining his seat