Constituency : Assembly


State :
District :
Total Voters :
Male :
Female :
Nalamada Padmavathi Reddy
MP :
Gutha Sukender Reddy

Voter details

Total Population: 2,99, 646 Men: 1,50,454 Women: 1,49,192
Total Voters: 2,12,222 Men: 1,04,650 Women: 1,07,564 and Others-8


Name of the constituency-Kodada
Reservation: Open
District: Nalgonda (new Suryapet district)
Mandals in constituency: Kodada, Anantagiri, Chilukuru, Munagala, Mote, Nadigudem
Lok Sabha constituency: Nalgonda
Present MLA : Nalamada Padmavathi Reddy
Year Winner Party Runner-Up Party Majority
2014 Nalamada Padmavathi Reddy Congress Mallaiah Yadav TDP 13374
2009 Venepalli Chander Rao TDP Md. Mahaboob Jani Congress 9824
2004 N. Uttam Kumar Reddy Congress Venepalli Chander Rao TDP 23787
1999 N. Uttam Kumar Reddy Congress Venepalli Chander Rao TDP 7309
1994 Venepalli Chander Rao TDP Nalamada Uttam Kumar Reddy Congress 9149
1989 Venapalli Chander Rao TDP Veerepalli Lakshmana Rao Congress 3800
1985 Venepalli Chander Rao TDP Chandra Reddy Congress 12027
1983 Veerepalli Lakshmana Rao TDP Chandra Reddy Congress 1255
1978 Akkiraju Vasudeva Rao Janata Kunchapu Lakshmana Rao Congress 3695

Important projects,Institutions

Pulichintala porject, Lift irrigation project at Mallareddy Gudem in Kodada constituency are important projects.

Ongoing Programmes

Construction of houses for SCs and backward classes under Pradhanmantri Grameena Awas Yojana is going on in full pace. About 5 thousand houses are being constructed under this scheme for poorer sections.

Pending issues

Except in Chilukuru, severe water crunch is being experienced by people of Mote, Nadigudem mandals. This problem persists in Kodada and Anantagiri mandals also. Apart from drinking water problem, the farmers are also facing shortage of irrigation water to their agriculture lands in several mandals.

Important places

Raja Vari Kota at Nadigudem, Gurrappa banyan tree, colour bridge at Ramachandrapuram, Pulichinthala project and several other places have potential to attract tourists in large numbers, if they are properly developed as tourist spots. These places do not have proper transportation system, which also makes it difficult for people to visit the places for recreation.

Interesting Points

Kodada constituency was formed in the year 1978 and for the first time it was won by Janata party candidate Akkiraju Vasudevarao. After the candidates from TDP won consecutively for five terms and Congress have won from this constituency for 3 times. The communities that was represented includes, Velama candidates have won four times, once it was by Kamma and Reddy's three times.