Constituency : Assembly


State :
District :
Total Voters :
Male :
Female :
Challa Vamshichandar Reddy
MP :
Nandi Yellaiah

Voter details

Total Population: 2,65,310; Men: 1,35,785 ; Women: 1,29,525
Total Voters: 1,98,444; Men: 1,01,956; Women: 96,464; Others: 24


Name of the constituency: Kalwakurthy
Reservation: Open
District: Nagarkurnool
Mandals in the constituency: Kalwakurthy, Veldanda, Talakondapally, Amangal, Madgul, Kadtal
Loksabha: Nagarkurnool
Present MLA: Challa Vamshichandar Reddy (Congress)
Year Winner Party Runner-Up Party Majority
2014 Challa Vamshichand Reddy Congress Achary Talloju BJP 78
2009 G.Jaipalyadav TDP Yadma Kista Reddy Congress 597
2004 Yadma Kista Reddy Congress Achari Thalloju BJP 22117
1999 G.Jaipal Yadav TDP Kista Reddy Yadma Congress 3403
1994 Kista Reddy Yedma Independent Gopal Reddy Independent 1259
1989 Chittaranjan Das Congress Nandamoori Taraka Ramarao TDP 3568
1985 J. Chittaranjandas Congress Lingareddy Dyapa JNP 9438
1983 Jaipal Reddy JNP Rukma Reddy Congress 17461
1978 S.Jaipal Reddy JNP Kamala Kantha Rao Kayithi Congress 13380
1972 S. Jaipal Reddy Congress B. Satyanarayan Reddy STS 9811
1967 G. Reddy Independent S. Talpallikar Congress 4743
1964 T.Shantabai Congress G.M.Reddy CPI 12361
1962 Venkat Reddy Independent Shanta Bai Talpallekar Congress 821
1957 Santa Bai Congress - - 0

Other Important Leaders

The other important non-political leaders from this constituency are Dr.V Damodar Reddy who is the founder of Lion Ram Reddy eye hospital and also looks after the welfare programmes conducted by lions club, Julluri Ramesh Babu the founder of Vasavi club, Kalwakurthy and he worked as the governor of Lions club and Vasavi club.

Important projects,Institutions

To supply irrigation water for the lands of Kalwakurthy, KLI project has been designed 30 years ago. KLI project has been changed to MJKLI. The works of main canal till Jangareddy Pally, Kalwakurthy mandal has been completed and the last ayacutt continues till Nagilla.

Ongoing Programmes

The works of MJKLI and Mission Bhagiratha are going on a faster pace. The construction of CC roads is going on. The works of Hyderabad-Srisailam national highway are in progress. The four line works of Nalgonda-Jadcherla has been completed.

Pending issues

The construction of KLI project went cold storage.

Important places

Maisigandi Maisamma temple, Pyramid meditation centre near Kadthal and the tools used by the ancient man were excavated at Andhagula village of Madgula mandal can be witnessed in the constituency.

Interesting Points

There is a strong belief among the political circles that the sitting MLA of the ruling party will never regain his seat but again that belief in 2004 elections when Congress party was in power, Edma Kista Reddy won with a huge margin. Jaipal Yadav from TDP won as MLA in 1999.