Constituency : Assembly


State :
District :
Total Voters :
Male :
Female :
Gangapuram Kishan Reddy
MP :
Bandaru Dattatreya

Voter details

Total population: 4,75,000
Males: 2,50,500
Females: 2,24,500
Total registered voters: 2,35,410
Males: 1,21,488
Females: 1,13,908
Others: 14


Name of the constituency: Amberpet
Reservation: General
District of which it is a part: Hyderabad
Mandals in the constituency: Amberpet, Himayathnagar
Lok sabha constituency of which it is a part: Secunderabad.
As a part of delimitation exercise, Amberpet constituency came into existence replacing erstwhile Himayathnagar constituency.In 1972, lakshmikanthamma was elected MLA from Himayathnagar constituency. Later in 1977 elections Mohammed Asim of Congress was elected MLA, The year 1983 saw Narayan Goud of TDP coming to power but by- polls had to be held  in the following year because of his demise.
Aaley Narendra of BJP won in this by-polls and he repeated his victory in mid term elections of 1985 and that of 1992. But the intervening elections of 1989 saw V. Hanmathrao of congress emerging victorious.
The 1994 elections was special to the extent that the winner of this elections, C. Krishna yadav went on to become a minister in Chandrababu naidu's cabinet. He registered another victory in 1999 elections as well.
In the elections of 2004, G. Kishan reddy of BJP achieved victory. In the year 2009, Himayathnagar as a constituency ceased to exist and Amberpet constituency was created to replace it.
Year Winner Party Runner-Up Party Majority
2014 G. Kishan Reddy BJP Aedla sudhakar reddy TRS 62698
2009 G. Kishan Reddy` BJP Mohd. Fareeduddin Congress 27243

Pending issues

One of the persistent problems that in annoying people in adjoining areas of Moosi river is foul smell emanating from it. Mosquito menace is also a cause of serious concern in these regions. Excessive rains often lead to inundation of adjoining areas of Moosi river. Age old rain-water drains of this constituency need immediate upgradation. Another source of discomfort are narrow lanes in this constituency which often is the cause of traffic congestion. Locals are demanding an urgent intervention by the authorities.

Important places

A place of historical prominence in this constituency is Kachiguda Railway station. There are several famous temples in this constituency like Shyambaba mandir in Veerann gutta, Mahankali temple in Amberpet, Ahobilmatt in DD Colony, Sringeri Shankar Matt in Nallakunta, Raghavendraswami Matt in Barkatpura, Gurudwara in CPL lines, Ayyappaswami temple in Baghamberpet, shivam temple, Jainmandir in Barkatpura etc. Headquarters of Pension Fund is located in Barkatpura.
In addition, DCP office east zone and slaughter house also are located in Amberpet. This constituency is home to several important educational institutions like ATI college in Vidyanagar, Hotel management institute in DD Colony, Kachiguda govt junior college, Reddy college, Nrupatunga group of colleges, Burgula Ramakrishna high school, Telangana Youth council etc. Several hospitals like AYUSH center, Quarantine hospital in Nallakunta, are also present in the constituency. Karnataka Sahitya mandir, Gujarati bhavan are some of the cultural centers present in the constituency.