Constituency : Assembly

Warangal West

State :
District :
Total Voters :
Male :
Female :
Dhasyam Vinaybhaskar
MP :
Pasunuri Dayakar

Voter details

Total population: 2,43,105; Men - 1,22,982; Women - 1,20,123
Total voters: 2,33,326; Men - 1,17,201; Women- 1,16,112 and Others- 13
Key communities : Brahmin and Reddy communities are dominating the constituency.


Name of constituency: Warangal West
Reservation: Open
District : Warangal Urban
Mandals in constituency: Warangal, Hanamkonda, Khilla Warangal, Kazipet, Dharmasagar, Veleru, Bhimdevarapally, Elkaturthi, Kamalapur, Inavolu, Hasanparthi
Lok Sabha constituency: Warangal
The Warangal West constituency was known as Hanamkonda earlier. In 2009, when delimitation of constituencies have taken place the new constituency was created called-Warangal West. Erstwhile Hanumakonda constituency was merged in Hasanparthy and Dharmasagar. There was no election to Hanumakonda constituency till 1978 and Hanamkonda constituency was formed again in 1978. Later, the constituency was reorganized as Warangal West.
Year Winner Party Runner-Up Party Majority
2014 D.Vinaybhaskar TRS K Dayasagar Rao Congress 56304
2010 D.Vinay bhaskar TRS K.Dayasagar Rao Congress 67524
2009 D.Vinaybhaskar TRS K Dayasagar Rao Congress 6684
2004 M. Satyanarayana Reddy TRS Vinaybhaskar Independent 0
1999 M Dharma Rao Congress PV Ranga Rao Congress 0
1998 PV Ranga Rao Congress M Dharma Rao BJP 0
1994 D.Pranay Bhaskar TDP PV Ranga Rao Congress 0
1989 PV Ranga Rao Congress D.Pranaybhaskar TDP 0
1985 V.Venkateshwar Rao TDP G.Prasad Rao Congress 0
1983 S.Satyanarayana TDP Hayagreevachary Congress-I 0
1978 T.Hayagreevachary Congress-I P Umareddy Janatha 0
1952 Pendyala Raghavarao PDF B.K.Reddy Congress 0
1952 SB Ramanadham PDF JK Rao Congress 0

Other Important Leaders

The important people are Paritala Subbharao, the convenor of Telangana employees JAC, Rajesh Kumar, TNGO's district president. Subbharao and Rajeshgoud played a key role during Telangana agitation. Vemula Satyanarayana is also one of the notable persons of the constituency.

Important projects,Institutions

Bala Vikas is one of the popular Christian voluntary organistations and is conducting various activities for the welfare of the people. No projects in Warangal West.

Ongoing Programmes

CM KCR has granted Rs. 300 crores for the development of the Warangal and as Warangal being announced as smart city, the works are been done on a faster pace. The constructions of ringroad and internal ringroad has started. Various schemes like Hruday and Amruth were sanctioned by Union government to give face lift to the city.

Pending issues

The construction of internal roads and the problem of traffic and sewage were long-lasting problems in the city.

Important places

Hanamkonda is well known for its architecture and historic spots. Thousand-pillar temple, Siddheshwara temple from Chalukya's period, Padmakshi tempe, Jain Thirthankaras statues, Aggalayya gutta, Ramalingeshwaralayam and many places are there. Kazipet railway junction which connects major cities of North and South India is present. Kakatiya university and NIT are there in this constituency.

Interesting Points

Since 1952, Hanamkoda constituency has underwent various changes. In 1952, it formed and later disappeared in 1957 and merged with Haasanparthy and Dharmasagar constituencies. Again in 1978, it formed and in 2009 it was dissolved and carved out as Warangal West. PV Ranga Rao, the son of former PM PV Narsimha Rao and Dasyam Vinay Bhaskar, the brother of Late Pranay Bhaskar belongs to this constituency.