Constituency : Assembly


State :
District :
Total Voters :
Male :
Female :
Banoth Madanlal
MP :
Ponguleti Srinivasa Reddy

Voter details

Total population: 2,39,275; Men – 1,20,017 and Women - 1,19,258
Total voters: 1,73,672, Men – 86,276, Women – 87,391 and Others - 5

Key communities: Lambadi (38,795), Kamma (20,345), Muslim (5,305), SC (10,468), ST (18,416), Tribal (10,828), Munnuru Kapu (7,837) and Yadav (14,916) votes play a crucial role in the upcoming elections.


Reservation: ST
Mandals in constituency: Wyra, Konijerla, Singareni, Enkuru and Julurupadu (Bhadradri Kothagudem dist)
Lok Sabha constituency: Khammam
Year Winner Party Runner-Up Party Majority
2014 Banoth Madanlal YSRCP Banoth Balaji TDP 10583
2009 Banoth Chandravathi CPI Dr. Bhukya Ramachandra Nayak Congress 13626

Other Important Leaders

Dr Kapa Murali Krishna, joint Governor (Nalgonda and Khammam) of Lions Club, has been conducting many social services besides his profession. CPI sympathiser Mallempati Veerabhadrarao is actively participating in Jana Vignana Vedika programmes.

Important projects,Institutions

Krishi Knowledge Centre, animal husbandry department, IML depot, Dolomite (Madharam, Singareni) and Wyra Reservoir (medium).

Ongoing Programmes

Mission Bhagiratha and Mission Kakatiya project works, R&B roads, CC roads development works, double-bedroom houses construction and Gurukulas construction.

Pending issues

The problems of Pocharam project (belonging to Kakatiya reign) are still unresolved. If the issue resolves, the project will be helpful to provide drinking and irrigation water to around 12 villages. Tribal integrated health care centre should be established. 39-bed hospital, degree college, junior colleges in every mandal, roads, fire station and others need to constructed and developed. The production of Dolomite has been reportedly reduced in Telugu states because of the tax issues.

Important places

Wyra reservoir, Sri Adbhuta Venkateswara Swami temple in Nacharam, Sri Lakshmi Narasimha Swami temple in Garloddu, Enjuru are a few famous places to visit in the constituency.

Interesting Points

So far, the constituency has witnessed two Assembly elections; in 2009 and 2014. Banoth Chandravathi contended as CPI candidate of the great alliance in 2009 and won the elections. Later, she was rejected to give ticket. So, the MLA crossed over to TRS and contended in 2014 elections but was unsuccessful. And she was appointed as the member of TSPSC.
Banoth Madanlal who became MLA in 2014 also joined the TRS party. Eventually, conflicts have been raised between Madanlal and the MP Ponguleti Srinivasa Reddy. TDP candidate Banoth Balaji also crossed over to TRS.